2022 – the year of ticking off the next big thing on the UK move list.

While the world remained in pandemic limbo in 2021, I’ve somehow managed to move to the UK to be with S and find employment in the National Health Service (NHS) … all in the span of 4.5 months. Not too shabby methinks, capping off an international move with a new job in a totally different sector. No more higher education for me; hello project management/ clinical services operations in healthcare! Yeah, no idea how I got here either. But there is something to be said about Arts graduates and our transferable skills! 😄

Now that I’m slowly settling into the usual work/life routine, the next big thing on the list is for us to find a place and get out feet on the property ladder! There were little hiccups with this last year (lol a couple of months ago), so we’ve given ourselves until June 2022 to find somewhere that’s relatively close to both our workplaces. Unfortunately there’s no working from home for both of us, being deemed essential workers and all that jazz. Ahhh, what a luxury was my former life in Melbourne.

The current commute isn’t too bad to be honest – a 30 minute drive from our part of Hull to get to work. It’s just the inconvenience of having to be up at the crack of dawn to use the bathroom (since there are 3 people here sharing the 1 bathroom), and neither S nor I are morning people so it is a struggle to make it to the 8am start. So the plan is to find a place that’s close enough where it’s at most a 15 drive to work.

I am however struggling with not having my own space and being a guest in someone else’s home, and to be honest, I didn’t expect us to be holed up at S’ mum’s for this long, you know? From having my own apartment for the past 9 years to living in someone else’s home … it just feels like the whole move isn’t complete, for lack of a better word.

So yeah 2022 will be the year where we aim to be homeowners and properly start our lives together; the past 5 months is merely us adjusting to each other, and me navigating living with other people! Look it’s not bad at all but I really, really, really miss my own space.

Leave a Comment